News : Home
Prizes - Nominations for the C20 Young Scientist award for 2013 are due by 1st May. Download poster.

International Union of Pure and Applied Physics

Young Scientist Prize in Computational Physics

Name of the Award:

International Union of Pure and Applied Physics Young Scientist Prize in Computational Physics

2012 Awardee - Roger Melko, University of Waterloo.

Past Winners:

2007: Professor Stefano Sanvito (School of Physics, Trinity College in Dublin)
2008: Doctor Naoki Yoshida (Department of Physics, Nagoya University)
2009: Doctor Amanda S. Barnard (CSIRO Materials Science & Engineering, Australia)
2010: Prof. Dr. Philipp Werner (Institute for Theoretical Physics, ETH Zurich)
for the development and implementation of quantum Monte Carlo methods which have transformed
the study of interacting electrons in solids.
2011: Prof. Stefano Curtarolo (Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science and Department of Physics, Duke University)
for pioneering high-throughput combinatorial computational materials science, for the creation of on-line materials development techniques, and for the development of thermodynamic models for nano-catalysts.
2012: Prof. Roger Melko (Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Waterloo, Canada)
for his innovative and deep achievements in developing quantum Monte Carlo methods for quantum information theory and condensed matter physics.


To promote and award excellence and originality in Computational Physics by outstanding young researchers.

Criteria for selection:

  • Recipients should be the principal performer of original work of outstanding scientific quality in Computational Physics.
  • Recipients, in a given year, should on January 1 of that year have a maximum of eight years of research experience (excluding periods of justifiable reserach inactivity such as parental leave, national service, extended sick leave etc.) following their PhD.
  • Previous recipients will not be eligible for another award.


  • Triennially, up to three International Union of Pure and Applied Physics [IUPAP] Young Scientist Prizes in Computational Physics will be awarded.
  • It is intended that one award be made each year. However, in any given year, the selection committee may, at its discretion, may decide not to make an award. If so, multiple awards may be made in the following year.
  • The awards will be announced and presented at the annual Conference on Computational Physics (CCP).

Nomination procedure:

  • Deadline for nominations in 2013 is May 1st.
  • Awards will be advertised electronically by the C20 Commission on its web page [see] and elsewhere.
  • Nominations shall be made to the Chairman of the C20 Commission, Alex Hansen[], by electronic mail.
  • Self-nominations will not be considered.
  • The nomination package should include the following:

    • A nomination letter
    • Two supporting letters
    • A Curriculum Vitae.

All letters should discuss the leadership role being played by the nominee as a Computational Physicist in his or her field, particularly with respect to originality in computational algorithmic development and excellence in computational physics applications.

The nominating letter should also discuss at least three of the nominee's most significant publications. In addition, it should propose a citation for the award that very briefly summarizes the achievements for which the award is being made. If the nominee is eight years past the PhD, the nomination letter should also identify periods of reserach inactivity and propose why these periods should be exempt from the eight year rule.

An author of a supporting letter should not be a nominator. At least one supporting letter must come from someone who is not at the nominee's institution, is not a past or present mentor, and is not a frequent co-author.

The nominee's curriculum vitae should include an employment and educational history and lists of publications, scientific awards, and invited talks.

Selection committee:

The selection committee consists of the Members and Associate Members of the C20 Commission. The selection committee may consult with appropriate external assessors.


  • Awards will be 1000 Eu. each, plus a medal and certificate to be provided by IUPAP.
  • The winner will be invited to present a paper at the CCP. CCP2013 will be held in Moscow in 2013.